e3 youth philanthropy logo

The E3 Youth Philanthropy Program connects local high school students to help realize their vision for social change.


E3 Youth Philanthropy educates, engages, and empowers local youth to create positive change in their local communities. E3 is one of three youth-oriented programs sponsored by Los Altos Community Foundation.

Through E3, participants have the opportunity to:

  • Learn from local philanthropists about nonprofits and the positive impacts of strategic giving
  • Design and participate in service projects
  • Research, analyze, and advocate for potential grant recipients.
  • Develop leadership and communication skills


E3 participants are residents of or attend school in Los Altos, Los Altos Hills, or Mountain View. Interested students must be entering 10th or 11th grade in August 2021.


The program runs from August through the first week of May.


For the 2020-21 school year, E3 meets via Zoom each Wednesday from 7:00-8:00 pm. When in-person meetings are allowed, the group will conduct some sessions at a local site with adequate social distance space. Regardless of online or in-person mode, participation in the August team-building retreat is required.

All members participate in service projects (weekends and/or evenings) throughout the year.


$200 (covers program materials and supplies). Financial aid is available.

Application Process:

The E3 application process for 2020-2021 is now closed. Applications for the 2021-2022 program will open in February 2021. Please check back then!

2020 - 2021 E3 Flyer

Contact E3 Program Director: Judy Crates at judy.crates@losaltoscf.org or call Los Altos Community Foundation at 650-949-5908.

Donate to E3

E3 Grants

Each year, LACF gives the E3 program $10,000.  The E3 Board gives grants to nonprofits and programs that benefit residents of Mountain View, Los Altos, Los Altos Hills, and surrounding communities.

The E3 grant application will open on 11/11/20. 

Apply for an E3 Grant

LACF's E3 Youth Philanthropy Program educates, engages, and empowers local youth to create positive change in their local communities.

2020-21 E3 Leadership Board

Bianka Bogdanic

Akhand Dugar

Elana Eisenberg

Megan Foreman

Leo Jaques

Harris Watson

2020/2021 E3 Board Members

Soham Bhonagiri

Navi Chawla

Anneli Chow

Liam Gerber

Diya Gupta

Carly Heltzel

Julia Isaac

Jessi Jha

Zarina Khader

Julieth Lara

Tyler Lin

Desmond Liu

Annie Schwartz

Kate Stadler

Saahil Sundaresan

Morgan Taylor-Cohen

Athena Tulac

Zhiyao Xiao

Kelly Yang

Ryan Yang

E3 Zoom Picture
Scroll to top